Accept and Continue

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Parish Council

The role of the Parish Council

Vernham Dean Parish Council has an overall responsibility for the well-being of our local community. The work falls into three main categories:
1. Representing the local community.
2. Delivering services to meet local needs.
3. Striving to improve quality of life in the parish.
The council is made up of 8 councillors who meet bi-monthly to make decisions on the work and direction of the council. As elected bodies parish councils are responsible to the local community.
Each year a sum of money called a ‘precept’is collected through the council tax. This money is used by the parish council to improve facilities and services for local people.
Everyone is welcome to attend council meetings. They take place on the second Monday bi-monthly and the agenda is published on the noticeboard and the website. They are held on the Millennium Hall and generally commence at 7.30 pm.
You can raise any issue to be discussed by emailing the clerk to the Council Karen Nightingale on

Contact Details for Parish Councillors

Name Responsibility Telephone No Email

Richard Winch


01264 737723

Haydn Watkins


01264 737297

Mark Doherty


07796 447 829

Julie Drury

Vice Chair/Planning

01264 737339

Adrian Butt

Village Hall

01264 737213

Nigel Palmer


01264 736107

David Christy


01264 737410

Glynn Seymour


01264 737610

Karen Nightingale


01264 737632